Santa_Cruz_de_Oñez

Santa Cruz de Óñez

Santa Cruz de Óñez

Add article description


Santa Cruz de Óñez was a fort founded by Martín García Óñez de Loyola in May 1594, near the confluence of the Bio-Bio and Laja Rivers on the right bank of the upper reach of the Rele River in Catiray, ten kilometers south of the Bio-Bio. The site was in an elevated location but with a shortage of water. Gold mines were located across the Rele on a stream called Millapoa.

The fort was elevated to the rank of city in 1595 giving it the name of Santa Cruz de Coya, or Millacoya.

Sources

  • Atlas de Historia de Chile, Editorial Universitaria, ISBN 9561117762 pg. 48.
  • Francisco Solano Asta-Buruaga y Cienfuegos, Diccionario geográfico de la República de Chile, SEGUNDA EDICIÓN CORREGIDA Y AUMENTADA, NUEVA YORK, D. APPLETON Y COMPAÑÍA. 1899. Pg. 190 Coya



Share this article:

This article uses material from the Wikipedia article Santa_Cruz_de_Oñez, and is written by contributors. Text is available under a CC BY-SA 4.0 International License; additional terms may apply. Images, videos and audio are available under their respective licenses.