Time in the United States

Time in the United States, by law, is divided into nine standard time zones covering the states, territories and other US possessions, with most of the United States observing daylight saving time (DST) for approximately the spring, summer, and fall months. The time zone boundaries and DST observance are regulated by the Department of Transportation. Official and highly precise timekeeping services (clocks) are provided by two federal agencies: the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) (an agency of the Department of Commerce); and the United States Naval Observatory (USNO). The clocks run by these services are kept synchronized with each other as well as with those of other international timekeeping organizations.

Time in the United States of America
Map of U.S. time zones since November 2007
Current time
Atlantic10:02 pm, September 22, 2021 [refresh]
Eastern10:02 pm, September 22, 2021 [refresh]
Central9:02 pm, September 22, 2021 [refresh]
Mountain8:02 pm, September 22, 2021 [refresh][lower-alpha 1]
Pacific7:02 pm, September 22, 2021 [refresh]
Alaska6:02 pm, September 22, 2021 [refresh]
Hawaii–Aleutian5:02 pm, September 22, 2021 [refresh][lower-alpha 2]
Samoa3:02 pm, September 22, 2021 [refresh]
Chamorro12:02 pm, September 23, 2021 [refresh]

It is the combination of the time zone and daylight saving rules, along with the timekeeping services, which determines the legal civil time for any U.S. location at any moment.